How to Teach

I'm in the final week of my last accounting class ever. I'm pleased with this. In two weeks I will have mostly forgotten everything I've ever known about managerial accounting. I'm less happy about that, but that's the nature of the game. At least I have my notes.

But here's what I'm not going to forget:

My professor in this class is an excellent teacher. I've been thinking about his teaching style all session, trying to identify the things that make his style so impressive, and here are some things I've identified.

Passion

He loves this topic, and that enthusiasm comes through in his teaching. One of the most common phrases in his lectures is “now this is interesting...” and you know what? He's right! When he points out something that interests him I get interested. I start thinking about how full absorption moves costs compared to variable costing. He is telling stories using numbers.

On the other side of the coin, he's fully aware that there are people in his class who don't love variance analysis on static budgets vs. actuals. So he works to “motivate” us (his word) to want to learn the topics with stories, concrete examples, and, when the situation demands, MegaBlocks to demonstrate how costs move through a system. It works. I don't love cost accounting, but I understand it far better than anyone would have any right to expect.

Compassion

Our professor knows what it's like to be a student in his class. He knows this because he listens to feedback. He monitors his emails and answers incredibly quickly. He has moved deadlines, changed assignments, and given extra tutoring sessions because people asked for help. He listened and worked to do what is best for the person asking, and the class in general. He treats us with respect, and it's effortless to respond in kind.

Reflection

I've never had a professor in any of my classes who is so open about how much he's learning. Our professor asks for feedback and asks to follow up questions about the input. He tells us what he's trying to do and why he thinks it is the right choice, then asks for our opinions.

Which isn't to say he's a pushover. I spent three hours studying for Part I of a four-part take-home final last night. I expect to spend another three hours for part II tonight. The class is hard. But no matter how hard it is I know it's fair. I know that my professor has thought through what he's asking of us.

I'm never going to be a college professor. (Probably.) But there will always be opportunities to teach others, and when they come up, I hope I can be as dedicated and competent in my teaching as this professor is in his.

#MBA #teaching

Thoughts? Tell me about them!
on Mastodon | on Twitter| on Remark.as Discuss...